TAKING GUN CONTROL TOO FAR: This Governor Just VETOED a Bill That Would Allow Domestic Violence Victims To Arm Themselves

A bill that would allow domestic abuse victims over 21 to arm themselves for up to 45 days without a permit after issuing a protective order against their abuser sounds like a great plan. It would be a great way to teach people about gun safety and how to use a gun. And of course, keep the victim safe!

Yet, Democratic Virginia Governor Terry McAuliffe doesn’t agree. Therefore, he vetoed House Bill 1852.

The bill stated it “would then give anyone with an active order an additional 45 days to carry concealed should they apply for a permanent concealed-handgun permit, which can take up to 45 days to process. The person with the protective order would be required to show police the order or permit application and photo ID if stopped.”

This sounds reasonable. No, it sounds fantastic!

But to McAuliffe, it sounds like the victim would be “less safe”.

“The bill perpetuates the dangerous fiction that the victims of domestic violence will be safer by arming themselves. It would inject firearms into a volatile domestic violence situation, making that situation less safe, not more.

In 2014, there were 112 family and intimate-partner related homicides in Virginia. Sixty-six of those deaths were with a firearm. I will not allow this bill to become law when too many Virginia women have already fallen victim to firearms violence at the hands of their intimate partner.” 

If the governor would only open his eyes for just a moment, he would be able to see how wrong he is and how his state could be incredibly proactive in fighting domestic abuse.

Many gun rights advocates saw things our way and spoke up.

“Governor McAuliffe claims we don’t need to introduce a gun into a ‘volatile situation,’ where there is a protective order in place. He’s completely wrong. That situation is exactly where we DO want to introduce a firearm. Knowledge that the victim is armed is a great incentive for the aggressor to stay away.”

-Virginia Citizens Defense League President Philip Van Cleave

Van Cleave also noted that the first 48 hours after a protective order is issued is the most crucial time for a potential victim to be armed.

“Protective orders really enrage the aggressor and the vetoed bill would have allowed the victim to be fully armed, yet in a discreet manner, even during those initial 48 hours. Sadly, the governor’s veto will likely cost innocent lives.”

The NRA also commented on McAuliffe’s veto, saying he was “siding with the gun control lobby that funds his campaign over victims of abuse.”

“Victims of domestic abuse should be free to protect themselves with more than a piece of paper. This bill would allow a victim of abuse who already has a protective order to immediately protect herself with a concealed firearm. Governor McAuliffe is siding with the gun control lobby that funds his campaign over victims of abuse who want more than a piece of paper to protect themselves.”

-NRA spokeswoman Catherine Mortensen

H/T: The Daily Wire

Share Your Comments
Trending Now on GJWHG