Watch Out Multiculturalists: Trump’s Travel Ban is Beginning

It’s happening. The travel ban will be taking effect Thursday at 8 p.m. EST.

Migrants from six countries with a high risk of terrorism will be prohibited from entering the country without an established, significant connection to the United States.

The countries are Syria, Sudan, Somalia, Libya, Iran and Yemen.

The Supreme Court stayed several lower court rulings barring enforcement of the president’s order Monday, but provided an exemption for foreign nationals possessing a “bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States.”

Trending: Racism: Singer Tells White Audience to ‘Move to the Back’, Gets Unexpected Reaction

The Departments of State and Justice developed guidance for U.S. consular officials concerning the definition of “bona fide relationship,” concluding it applies only to foreign nationals with close, previously established ties to the U.S. The Associated Press obtained an all-embassies cable from DOS late Wednesday, advising that visa applicants from the six countries named in the order must prove a relationship with a parent, spouse, child, adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling already residing in the United States in order to claim exemption from the ban.

Extended relations, including grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law or fiancees do not fall within the scope of the exemption, according to the guidance.

The Daily Caller

Affected foreign nationals with significant business ties to American entities are allowed to enter under the condition all such claims are “formal, documented and formed in the ordinary course rather than for the purpose of evading.”

Students, journalists, and workers are also allowed to apply for visas under the exemption.

U.S. citizens, green card holders, current visa holders, visa applicants inside the U.S. prior to June 26, and dual nationals from the affected countries are exempt from the ban.

The order has an effective 90-day period and refugees from the six countries are not allowed to seek resettlement in the U.S. through the refugee admissions program for 120 days.

This is a lot more than the Obama admin did. But do you think it will help?


Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.